Reset our Thoughts💟

happy birthday to me🥳

,ٱلسَّلَامُ عَلَيْكُمْ

As my 20th birthday approaches, I find myself reflecting on the journey of the past two decades.

Life has been a series of changes and discoveries, and I'm realising that it's okay not to have all the answers.

When I look back, I see years spent in education, but I can't help but wonder if I truly know myself.

Do any of us?

The truth is, we're constantly evolving.

Our opinions shift, and we encounter new perspectives that challenge us.

Some things, of course, remain the same—I still can't stand porridge and weetabix.

But I've also noticed changes in myself.

I used to fear being alone, but now I appreciate my own company.

Being on a gap year has forced me to embrace it and has been a valuable experience.

Turning 20 is not earth-shattering; it's just another step in our journey.

What matters is the direction we choose.

I've decided to keep moving forward, whether that means taking big leaps or small steps.

Staying in the same place isn't an option.

I've been feeling stuck lately, like nothing I do is genuine or enjoyable.

It's disheartening, especially when motivational gurus on Youtube and LinkedIn talk about discipline over motivation.

But I've come to realise that I'm more driven by emotions and encouragement.

Seeing the purpose behind what I do motivates me more than forcing myself to do it.

Tip of the day:

When negative emotions creep in, pause.

Reflect on why you feel that way and find a positive way to address it.

For example, you catch yourself feeling envious of someone else.

Go out of your way to compliment them.

It will prevent negativity and evil eye and you would feel happy within yourself.

My good friend gave me this thought process the other day and it couldn’t have been more helpful.

I'm incredibly grateful to be surrounded by all of you.

Your presence, whether direct or indirect, pushes me to grow and face life's challenges head-on.

Thank you for being a part of my journey.

Jazakallah khair,

Amal 🎉