Reset for Contentment💟

Asslamu alaikum,

Hope you're doing great today!

In today's episode, let's start with a hadith from the Prophet (peace be upon him).

The idea of being content comes from a simple perspective.

This basic dua reaffirms our beliefs in Allah, our religion, and the Prophet SAW, which leads us to the idea of Happiness vs. Contentment.

I've realised I've been chasing constant happiness, thinking if I'm not extremely happy, I'm sad.

It's a strange mindset.

I hadn't really thought about being content before.

But let me tell you, being content feels so much better than being happy.

Happiness is short-lived, while contentment lasts longer.

We could be the richest person on earth, but without contentment, we'd never be satisfied, always wanting more.

Sometimes, waiting for something to happen and being content brings us closer to Allah.

This reminds me of a personal story.

Back in year 13, I had a university interview for radiography on January 31, 2022.

You can tell how much it made an impact on me if I can remember the exact date.

I wasn't praying regularly back then and wasn't happy with how my life was turning out.

My interview was at 2 PM, so I prayed Dhuhr beforehand.

I ended up having the worst interview of my life and even cried afterwards.

But that moment pushed me to start praying all my prayers regularly.

From one prayer a day to all five, that setback fueled my drive to always pray.

I'm so grateful for that experience.

Being content with Allah's plan frees us from worldly worries.

We both know Allah has something better in store for us.

We just need to have patience, make dua, and seek repentance.

May Allah allow you to succeed in everything you pursue, ameen!

Barakallahu feek,

Amal